Kundalini Yoga


Kundalini Yoga in Practice

Kundalini Yoga uses a combination of postures (asanas), movements, breath (pranayama), sound, and mental focus to move energy through the chakras.

It consists of still and moving poses coordinated with breathing patterns. It also includes chanting and meditation.  Kundalini sequences are still very physical, however, holding a wide appeal to people seeking both a physical and mental challenge.

In particular, sequences of Kundalini poses are called Kriyas, meaning action and movement. Along with mastering Kriya comes an ability to complete things and to change consciousness. The pranayama techniques are designed to intensify the effects of the poses, with the goal of freeing energy in the lower body to move upwards.

Literally, Kundalini means “coiled,” a reference to the metaphorical coiled snake at the base of the spine. Through Kundalini the snake is uncoiled, releasing the energy within to achieve improved health, strength, and happiness. Students of this popular form of yoga feel relaxed, uplifted, and energized.

Elements of Kundalini

In a typical Kundalini yoga class, you will encounter:

  • Poses/asanas
  • Breathing/pranayama
  • Mudras/hand postures
  • Bhandas
  • Mantras
  • Sound vibrations
  • Meditations
  • Closing salutation/deep relaxation

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Bringing balance to the body, mind and soul, benefits of Kundalini yoga include:

  • Improves circulation
  • Increases lung capactity
  • Increases physical strength and flexibility
  • Correct body alignment
  • Aids in digestion
  • Boosts immune system
  • Reduces stress and anxiety
  • Increases mental clarity
  • Balances Emotions
  • Provides an inner sense of well-being

Specific conditions helped by Kundalini yoga include:

  • Asthma
  • Arthritis
  • Osteoporosis
  • Pregnancy
  • Menopause
  • Back pain
  • Poor posture
  • Aging
  • Stress and anxiety
  • Weight Loss

Enjoy the myriad of physical, emotional, and spiritual benefits by starting Kundalini yoga.