Types of Aryuveda

There are two primary types of Aruyveda:

  • Traditional Aryuveda
  • Maharishi Aryuveda

Both maintain that disease results from imbalances and use similar remedies for treatment of illness. However Maharishi Aryuveda adds Transcendental Meditation, stressing the role of the consciousness of the universe (supreme consciousness) in maintaining optimum health. Aryuveda treatment plans include a proper diet, lifestyle, and herbal remedies.

How Aryuveda Works

According to Aruyuvedic science, every individual has a unique combination of mental, physical, and emotional character traits, as well as a distinct energy pattern. The three primary energy patterns, called doshas, present in each individual are called:

  • Vata
  • Pitta
  • Kapha

Disturbances in the balance of dosha, caused by factors such as stress, relationship difficulties, poor diet, and more, manifest in the body as disease. In order to bring the doshas back into balance, Ayurvedic practitioners prescribe treatments.

Ayurvedic Medicine Treatments

There are more than 20 types of Aryuvedic treatments, however those prescribed the most are:

  • Yoga, which combines postures, pranayama breathing, and meditation
  • Pranayama breathing exercises
  • Pancha Karma, cleansing and clearing the body of toxins
  • Abhyanga, herbal oils used to increase blood flow and release toxins
  • Ayurvedic Massage for strengthening muscle tone, purifying the body, relaxing, and rejuvenating
  • Rasayana, rejuvenation through the use of mantras, meditation, and herbs
  • Herbal Medicines for restoring dosha balance

How to Find an Aryuveda Practitioner

In India, Ayurvedic training graduates earn a Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery (BAMS) degree or a Doctor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery (DEMS) degree. In the U.S., a number of schools offer Aryuveda educational programs, such as the California College of Ayurveda where one can earn a certificate as a Clinical Ayurvedic Specialist. For a full list of Ayurvedic Medicine practitioners, visit the website of the National Institute of Ayurvedic Medicine (NIAM).